LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: A

Finding Information

A

AAPG Datapages
Access full-text geological publications from numerous organizations, including the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists, and many regional geological organizations.
Academic Search Elite (formerly Academic Search Complete)
Access thousands of scholarly journals in most disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
AccessAnesthesiology
A comprehensive anesthesiology resource that covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content.
AccessMedicine
Access hundreds of books, review questions, case files, videos, interactive 3D modules, and more, across basic sciences and clinical specialties.
AccessSurgery
A comprehensive online surgery resource that includes books, ABSITE review resources, review questions, case files, and more, for medical students.
ACS Publications
Access the full-text of almost all journals published by the American Chemical Society, from volume 1 to the most current issue.
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a personal account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your ACS Publications account.
2. Click on your name at the top-right of the screen to access your account profile
3. From the menu on the right, select Edit Profile
4. Click the Change Email button, update your email address, and click Save.
Acta Sanctorum
A collection of documents examining the lives of saints.

Contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Société des Bollandistes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. All prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices, Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL) reference numbers, are also included.
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
A digital collection of documents from the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files on Afghanistan, relating to internal and foreign affairs between 1945 and 1963.

Materials include special reports on political and military affairs; studies on socioeconomic matters; minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings; full texts of important letters and instructions sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; translated foreign journals and newspapers; translated foreign government documents.
AFI Catalog
Provides comprehensive information on American films released between 1893 and 1974 and additional information on selected major films from 1975 onwards. Searchable by keyword, film title, cast, crew, and character names, subject, genre, and release year. Also includes plot summaries and production notes for most films released between 1893-1974.
African American Communities, 1810-2013
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
African American Poetry, 1750-1900
Contains poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition.
African Writers Series
A collection of key texts of modern African literature including fiction, poetry, drama and non-fiction prose, in English, or with English translation.

Digitized works from the Heinemann African Writers Series. Notable authors include Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot Bitek, and Tayeb Salih.
ASHP Patient Medication Information (replaces AHFS Consumer Medication Information)

Provides access to information about U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive (Smithsonian Collection)
See Smithsonian Collection: Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive.
Alexander Street Press Videos
Access documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, demonstrations, and news programs and newsreels. Includes featured collections from BBC Landmark Video, CNN, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a personal account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your Alexander Street account.
2. View your profile and select edit to update your email address (this is also your username)
3. Save changes to complete the update.
American City Business Journals

IU Southeast students, faculty, and staff can sign up for full access to Business First of Louisville.
ACCESS NOTE: For full access to , register for an account here using your @iu.edu email address.
See also Louisville Business First.

ACCESS NOTE: When accessing this resource from off campus, you may receive notification that the website certificate is not valid. (This is due to the URL having a double SSL connection.) To access the site you will need to either click okay on the warning (Internet Explorer) or click to add an exception (Firefox).
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Includes the full text of diaries, letters, and memoirs from the American Civil War, as well as biographies and a bibliography of the sources in the database.
American Decades
Reference resource that provides information about contemporary American social history, from 1900-1999.
American Drama, 1714-1915
Includes access to numerous American dramatic works including plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a multitude of other genres from the years between 1714 and 1915. Dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
American Doctoral Dissertations

Now called OpenDissertations.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.

American Factfinder (now called Data.Census.gov)
Provides access to Census Bureau data, including data on population, economic, education, business, housing, income & poverty, and more.

American Film Scripts Online
Now called Film Scripts Online.
American History, 1493-1945
This collection documents over 400 years of American history. Unique manuscript material covers important topics including colonial America, the American Revolution, federalism and American expansion, American Indians, and slavery. Manuscripts are supplemented by a wide range of original maps, engravings, posters, broadsides, pamphlets and rare printed material.
American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
See Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926.
American History in Video
Provides access to archival films of historical interest, ranging from rare government and public-affairs footage to more commercial, popular documentaries.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America (formerly American Indian Histories and Cultures)
This collection includes a wide range of material covering early interactions between American Indians and Europeans, the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, and the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Online Journals
See Scitation.
American Memory (now called Library of Congress Digital Collections)
Now called Library of Congress Digital Collections.
American Periodicals Series Online
Provides searchable full text of all issues of over 1,500 periodicals, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. The majority of content was published between 1740 and 1900.
American Physical Society (APS) Journals
Provides access to bibliographic records and abstracts of journal articles published by the American Physical Society. Covers physics and associated disciplines.
American Poetry, 1600-1900
Includes the works of more than 200 American poets from the colonial period to the early twentieth century.
American West
This collection allows scholars to explore the American West from the 18th-20th century through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources. Topics covered include the Gold Rush, evolution of western towns, growth of railway and road networks, agricultural transformation, Native American history and first-hand accounts of the lives of vigilantes and outlaws.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Provides access to citations of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
APA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
APA Style and Formatting guide from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1988
Provides access to British governmental files on the apartheid governments of South Africa from 1948-1988. These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation.
APA Style Guide (IUS)
APA Style Citation Guide from the IUS Writing Help Center
Archives Direct
Enables the ability to cross-search all of the collections available in the Archives Direct, including Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980; Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966; Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969; Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969; Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961; Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980; Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980; Foreign Office Files for South East Asia, 1963-1980; Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981; Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963; The Nixon Years, 1969-1974; Women in The National Archives.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Contains primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world with content from journals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, posters, and more.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Archives Unbound
A platform for digital collections of historical documents provided by Gale. Collections available at IUS focus on African American studies, African studies, American studies, Asian studies, British and European history, business and economic history, cultural studies, gender, sexuality, & women's studies, health and environmental studies, international relations, Latin American and Caribbean studies, law, politics, & radical studies, Middle Eastern studies, and Native American studies.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Art and Architecture in Video

This online streaming film collection provides access to documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis of visual media. Periods covered include the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary Art.
Artemis Literary Sources
Now called Gale Literature.
Artemis Primary Sources
Now called Gale Primary Sources.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Asian American Drama
Contains the full text of more than 250 plays, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Plays in this collection present views on historical events, such as the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II and the Vietnam conflic, as well as sociological issues, such as assimilation, integration, and cultural identity in a Western context.
Associated Press Collections Online
An archive of primarily 20th century news materials that provide original perspectives on historical events around the world from a distinguished news reporting organization.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

IUS Databases A-Z: A

Finding Information

A

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Ask a Librarian

Featured Database