LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: L

Finding Information

L

Latin American Women Writers
A searchable collection of prose, poetry, essays, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction

Includes access to plays, prose, and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present.
Leisure, Travel, and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism
Provides an in-depth look at the evolution of European and American working class tourism from 1850 to 1980. Contains brochures, guidebooks, photo albums, and tourist ephemera supplemented by printed books, travel agency records, handwritten journals, leaflets, promotional films, and government correspondence.
Lexi-PALS Drug Guide

Now called ASHP Patient Medication Information
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
Contains primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world with content from journals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, posters, and more.
LGBT Thought and Culture
Provides access to key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes materials ranging from seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights to memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
A digital collection of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party. This collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
Provides access to one of the most popular American illustrated weekly magazines of the 1920s-1950s. Containing over 17,000 fiction and non-fiction articles and stories, the archive includes the complete 26-year run of the magazine - scanned in full color and fully searchable.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISA)

Provides access to citations and abstracts from journals, books, research reports, and proceedings in library science and information management. Subject areas included are librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
LibriVox
Provides access to freely available, volunteer-read audiobooks from the public domain.
Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
A complete (1929-1991), fully searchable archive of The Listener, the BBC periodical established as the medium for reproducing radio, and later, television programs in print. It also included works by literary notables as W. H. Auden, T. S. Eliot, E. M. Forster, Philip Larkin, George Orwell, Sylvia Plath, Bertrand Russell, Virginia Woolf and others.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Gale Literary Index
Provides a master index to many of the literature products published by Gale, including many resources for which we have full-text access available (Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something about the Author, and the suite of literature criticism resources provided through Literature Criticism Online). Gale Literary Index combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names (including pseudonyms and variant names) and 215,000 titles into one source.
Literary Manuscripts : Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public Library
This collection includes author collections from the Berg Collection, one of the finest literary research collections in the world. Source materials includes pnpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings by Matthew Arnold; the Brontës; Elizabeth Barrett Browning; Robert Browning; Wilkie Collins; Joseph Conrad; Charles Dickens; George Eliot; George Gissing; Thomas Hardy; Henry James; Dante Gabriel Rossetti; John Ruskin; Alfred Tennyson; and William Makepeace Thackeray.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers’ Company Archive, 1554-2007
Provides access to the archive of the Worshipful Company of Stationers, including registers of copyright which recorded all published works in England from 1554-1842.
Gale Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online)
Provides full-text, cross-searchable access to ten of Gale's literature criticism series that include a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Titles included: Contemporary Literary Criticism; 20th-C. Literary Criticism; 19th-C. Literature Criticism; Shakespearean Criticism; Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; Drama Criticism; Children's Literature Review; Literature Criticism 1400-1800.
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.
Loeb Classical Library

Provides access to a fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature (over 500 volumes of epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, and more) with the original Greek or Latin side-by-side with an accurate English translation.
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a personal account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your Loeb Classical Library account.
2. Click on My Loebs at the top of the screen
3. Select My Account
4. Update your email address and press the Save button
London Low Life : Street Culture, Social Reform and the Victorian Underworld
Provides the full text of rare books, ephemera, maps, and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London, with a focus on its underworld. Themes explored in this collection include political scandals, slang, working class culture, social reform, crime, and justice.
London Sunday Times Historical Archive
See Sunday Times (London).
London Times Digital Archive
See Times (London) Digital Archive.
Louisville Business First
Comprehensive coverage of business news from a local, regional, and national perspective.

This database is only available to IU Southeast students, faculty, and staff.
One Mail Instructions
If you setup your Business First account using your @ius.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:
1. Visit your account user profile and choose the "Update email" option under “Account.”
2. Enter your @iu.edu email address in the New Email and then press Save.
3. You will be asked to sign into your account with the old email address first to then update to the new email address.
Note that it can take up to a full 24 hours for your information to update across all systems.
Louisville Courier-Journal Online (via Proquest)

See Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY) Online (via Proquest).

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

IUS Databases A-Z: L

Finding Information

L

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Ask a Librarian

Featured Database