LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: M

Finding Information

M

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
Provides coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) (CAB 128) and memoranda (CAB 129) during the tenure of Harold Macmillan as the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees (CAB 134).
Making of America (Cornell University)
A searchable collection of primary sources in American social history, primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The resource is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. See Making of America Journals (University of Michigan) for related resources.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
A searchable collection of primary sources in American social history, primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The resource is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. See Making of America Journals (Cornell University) for related resources.
Making of the Modern World, 1450-1945
Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. The collection documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
March of Time
Provides access to the full run of The March of Time series (1935-1967), with searchable transcripts.
MarketLine Reports

Use Business Source Elite to find company profiles published by MarketLine (formerly DataMonitor).
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965
Provides access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, a consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The collection includes information on some of America’s best known brands and on consumer goods ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels.
Mass Observation Online
Provides access to the original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features. Mass Observation was founded in 1937 to create an “anthropology of ourselves,” and by recruiting a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers, they studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain.
Documents from a new Mass Observation (1981-2009) are available in the Mass Observation Project, 1981-2009 collection.
MasterFILE Elite (formerly MasterFILE Complete)

Provides full-text access to a collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
MAS Ultra (formerly MAS Complete)

Provides access to hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
MathSciNet (AMS)
MathSciNet offers access to a searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

Pre-recorded tutorials on MathSciNet are available here: http://www.mathscinet.info/index.html
MathSciNet (EBSCOhost)

MathSciNet offers access to a searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Medical Services and Warfare
Provides access to primary sources that trace medical developments from 1850-1927, covering multiple conflicts, such as The Crimean War, The American Civil War, and World War I, in order to examine the wider impact of these advances in society and culture. Themes include mental health, post-war jobs for soldiers, training, prosthetics, dentistry, plastic surgery, rehabilitation, hospitals and nursing homes, the flu pandemic.
Medieval Family Life
Provides access to Britain’s first surviving records of private correspondence, describing everyday life in East Anglia during the Wars of the Roses. Primary source written and visual material provides insight into issues like pursuing an inheritance, and those of daily and domestic concern; arranging marriages, bearing and raising children, calculating profit and loss, mourning the dead, fleeing from the plague, or placating the great powers of the land.
Medieval Travel Writing
Provides access to a collection of manuscripts that encompass the journeys of merchants, missionaries and fantasists to the Holy land, India and China during 13th-16th century Europe. The sources reveal attitudes and preconceptions of Europeans in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature and science. Documents are written in a range of languages, all with English translations and an array of supporting materials such as maps showing travel routes and chronological time lines.
MEDLINE (Ovid)

Access to MEDLINE (1950-current); MEDLINE Daily Update, MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, and OLDMEDLINE (1948-1965) as well as other Ovid medical and health sciences databases, including selected full-text.
AI Research Tool
Our subscription includes access to the AI Article Summary tool. This tool is in beta, and initially is only on proprietary Lippincott journals in the database. The list of titles is available at the Wolters Kluwer help site. The tool maybe removed from the database and the journals with the feature may change without advance notice.
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a personal account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your Ovid account.
2. Click My Account and then the Modify Account
3. In the online form, update your email address to use your iu.edu address
4. Enter your password in the Current Password field.
5. Click the Save Changes button
You will return to the Account Administration page and a message will confirm the changes
Meet the Press Online
This streaming video collection provides access to the full surviving broadcast run of network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates on a wide range of political, economic, and social issues.
Meiji Japan
Includes Edward S. Morse’s documentation of life in Japan during the 19th and 20th century.
Merck Manual
A medical reference book that cover a wide range of medical topics, including disorders, drugs, procedures & exams, and more.
Merriam-Webster
A free online dictionary and thesaurus.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Online
MoMA’s online collection includes many artists and objects from MoMA’s departments of Architecture and Design, Drawings, Painting and Sculpture, Photography, Prints and Illustrated Books, Film, and Media and Performance Art.
Middle Search Plus

Provides full-text access to popular magazines suitable for middle and junior high school research. Database includes an image collection and articles include a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Migration to New Worlds
Provides access to personal diaries, letters, travel journals, scrapbooks and more documenting the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Military and Government Collection

Provides access to current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government from a range of information sources.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
MLA Style and Formatting guide from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
MLA International Bibliography

Includes citations to journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Coverage is international in scope and some bibliographic entries date back to the 1920s.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
MLA Style Citation Guide (IUS)
MLA Style citation guide from the IUS Writing Help Center.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
See Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
Music Online: Opera in Video
See Opera in Video.
Music Periodicals Database
Includes abstracts of articles in scholarly journals and popular magazines about all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.

A guide to using Music Periodicals Database is available here.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

IUS Databases A-Z: M

Finding Information

M

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

AI Research Tool

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Ask a Librarian

Featured Database