LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: P-Q

Finding Information

P-Q

PAO (Periodicals Archive Online)
Provides access to the archives of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

A user guide to PAO (Periodicals Archive Online) is available: http://proquest.libguides.com/pao.
Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
This collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka. It includes poetry, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, and more, and covers Baraka’s involvement in the politics in Newark, N.J., in Black Power movement organizations, and Baraka’s later involvement in Marxism.
Papers of Panton, Leslie, and Company
See Indian Trade in the Southeastern Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie, and Company.
Patrologia Latina
The electronic version of the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
PBS Teachers: Resources for the Classroom
Provides access to preK-12 educational resources, including lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations. These resources are correlated to state and national educational standards and are tied to PBS' award-winning on-air and online programming like NOVA, Nature, Cyberchase, Between the Lions, and more.
Perdita Manuscripts, 1545-1775
This collection provides access to over two hundred and thirty manuscripts from early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form (“perdita” means “lost woman”). Manuscripts in this collection are varied in their content including works of poetry, religious writing, autobiographical material, cookery and medical recipes, and accounts.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database

Includes abstracts and selected full text on the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and performance art.
Periodicals Index Online
Includes citations to articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
NOTE: See PAO (Periodicals Archive Online) for full-text access to many of the articles cited in this database.

A user guide to Periodicals Index Online is available: http://proquest.libguides.com/pio.
Philosopher's Index

Provides citations and abstracts to scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy from 1940 to the present. Topics covered include esthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
Provides access to a searchable archive of the British magazine Picture Post, from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. Includes thousands of photos of British life between the 1930s and 1950s.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
Includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
ACCESS NOTE: This URL takes you to the US Department of Veterans Affairs website. The PILOTS database is available as a link on the right hand side of the screen.
PLoS
Provides the ability to search across all PLoS journals for articles on biology, clinical trials, genetics, and medicine.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
This collection documents the history of ‘popular’ medicine in America during the nineteenth century, featuring a rich variety of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Topics covered include herbal medicine, sexual health, homeopathy, ‘quack’ cures, hydrotherapy and medicinal advertisements.
Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Contains primary source materials covering the difficulties faced by European peoples after World War II, with a particular focus on the administration, care, repatriation and emigration of refugees.
Primary Search

Provides full-text access to popular magazines for elementary school research, with coverage from 1990 to the present. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Project Gutenberg
Provides access to a large collection of free online books. Project Gutenberg ebooks are available for download on your PC, Kindle, iPad, and smart phones.
Projections of Education Statistics
Provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary public and private schools. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2020. Also included are state-level data on enrollment in public elementary and secondary schools and public high schools from year 2002 and projections to year 2020.
Project MUSE
Provides citations and some full-text access to scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Fields covered include cultural studies, economics, education, gender studies, history, political science, literature and literary criticism, visual and performing arts, and many others.
Proquest Databases

Provides the ability to search Proquest databases (ABI/INFORM, Periodicals Archive Online, Dissertations & Theses, etc.) simultaneously.
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a My Research account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your My Research account
2. Select Account
3. Update your email address and click Save Changes
4. You will receive an email with the subject Email address confirmation
5. Follow the instructions in the email to complete your account update
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Provides citations, abstracts, and some full text to over 2.4 million dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present.

Proquest has created a guide to using Proquest Dissertations and Theses.
AI Research Tool
Our subscription includes access to the Research Assistant AI research tool. Access to this tool is currently a pilot, and may be removed without advance notice.
Proquest Ebook Central Academic Complete Ebook Collection
Contains more than 43,000 ebooks across the academic spectrum, including books in business, economics, careers, computers, law, medicine, and the natural and social sciences.
NOTE: Click here for a guide to searching, viewing, and downloading ebooks on the Proquest Ebook Central platform.
APA PsycARTICLES

Includes searchable full-text and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. PsycARTICLES contains all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
APA PsycINFO

Provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, technology, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Public Library of Science
See PLoS.
PubMed Central
U.S. National Institutes of Health's (NIH) free searchable digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Provides full-text access to Punch, an influential magazine of humour and satire published weekly in Britain between 1841-1992.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Provides writing resources and instructional materials to assist with writing projects.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

IUS Databases A-Z: P-Q

Finding Information

P-Q

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

AI Research Tool

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Ask a Librarian