LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: O

Finding Information

O

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
A nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.
OCLC WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books available in other libraries around the nation and the world (including Metroversity)
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals, statistics, and databases.
A short YouTube overview of the OECD iLibrary is available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1W6njUrEXaY.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch provides access to the majority of the IU Southeast Library's resources. Rather than searching in IUCAT for books, Academic Search Premier or JSTOR for peer-reviewed journal articles, and Gale Virtual Reference Library for encyclopedia entries, you can do one search in OneSearch and retrieve results for all types of materials. OneSearch provides access to journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, books and e-books, government documents, DVDs and streaming videos, and more. The default search in OneSearch will return only items that are either available through an IU Southeast subscribed database or are available in the IU Southeast Library; however, you can modify this to include citations and abstracts as well (using the Limiters on the results page).
ACCESS NOTE: For non-IU Southeast students, faculty, and staff, guest access to OneSearch is available here: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=guest&custid=iuse&groupid=main&profile=eds
Online Books Page This link opens in a new window
Brings together access to freely available books from a multitude of websites, including Project Gutenberg, HathiTrust, and more.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present. This is an online version of the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities (with additional citations added).
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of operatic performances covering the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes.
Ovid Databases This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the Ovid databases MEDLINE and HealthStar, as well as acess to our subscribed eBooks and journals published by Ovid.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
An online art reference source that covers Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the contents of Grove Art Online as well as additional Oxford art reference resources. Provides access to artists' biographies, images of artwork, as well as information on aesthetics, art terms, art movements, styles, theory, and criticism.
A video guide for Oxford Art Online is available: http://www.oxfordartonline.com./subscriber/page/guided_tour.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
An online music reference source that includes the contents of Grove Music Online as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Provides access to articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms, genres, and popular music.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
A collection of language and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works published by Oxford University Press. All titles in the collection are cross-searchable; individual titles may be searched separately as well.
Oyez Project: U.S. Supreme Court Media This link opens in a new window
The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. The site features digitized outtakes from tape recordings of oral arguments on cases going back to 1955 and is searchable chronologically (by chief justice), or by case (by case or by docket number). It also includes a "deep-dive" feature giving video reports by legal scholars on the background of certain cases.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Library Hours

We are available when the Library is open.

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new window
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.