IUS Databases A-Z: S

Provides a wealth of material about the history of North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica, and the West Indies, with particular emphasis on the history and culture of the United States from 1500-1926. Includes original accounts of exploration, colonization, pioneering, settlement, the American Revolution, the Civil War and Reconstruction, the western movement, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Includes citations, abstracts, and the full text of journals published by Sage in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, & medicine.

See Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970.

Includes citations, abstracts, and the full text of journals published by Elsevier in medicine, natural sciences, technology, and social sciences.

Includes research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, medicine, and more.  

ACCESS NOTES: 

• First time users must register for an account using your @iu.edu email address. 
• Authorized users may only utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes.
• Credentials used for the classic SciFinder site will work on the SciFinder-n site.
• If you have not used your SciFinder account in over 18 months, it is possible it has been de-activated.  If you are unable to login, please email help@cas.org for assistance with reactivating your account and ensuring that it is associated with your @iu.edu email address. Information to include your email:
  • Your IU Southeast affiliation (student/faculty/staff)
  • Your existing SciFinder username (if known)
  • Your @iu.edu and @ius.edu email address (This will allow SciFinder support to identify your inactive account regardless of which email you used initially.)
• Beginning in mid-2025, SciFinder-n requires users to verify their email account. This verification may occur when initially setting up the account or when logging into an existing account if the email has not already been verified. If your account needs to be verified, here is a breakdown of what you will do:
  • After logging in to SciFinder-n, you will see an on-screen prompt requesting email verification.
  • You will receive an email in your IU email account from userprofile@cas.org with the subject line “CAS Profile Verification Code”
    • Check your junk/spam folder if you do not receive the message.
  • Copy the verification code from the email and paste it into the SciFinder-n verification prompt.

 

An interactive teaching and learning portal to articles, study resources, and scientific insights on genetics, the study of evolution, variation, and the rich complexity of living organisms. Also provides the ability to network with fellow students and faculty in these areas of study in the "People" and "Groups" sections of the website.

Provides access to bibliographic records and abstracts of journal articles published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies. Covers physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, materials science, mathematics and associated disciplines.

See ScienceDirect.

Scopus is a citation and abstracting database that provides comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.

A 60 volume collection of Romantic poetry, accompanied by extensive critical reviews and scholarly essays.

See Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection.

See Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection.

A comprehensive and authoritative online resource that includes general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare, the world’s most recognized scholarly edition.

Provides access to rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library. The prompt books tell the stories of key performances of Shakespeare’s plays as they were put on in theaters throughout Great Britain, the United States and further afield, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. The resource also contains carefully curated case studies built around 17 selected performances, featuring supporting material such as photographs, costume designs and music scores.

This collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s and highlights legendary filmmakers such as Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buñuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others.

Provides access to the full text of books on computer programming languages, desktop and office applications, computer hardware and software, the internet, business technology, engineering, and numerous other information technology topics.

Provides access to original manuscripts and rare printed material dating back to 1490 on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition. It includes significant coverage of slavery in America, slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.

A digital collection of primary documents on slavery that includes information on the abolitionist movement and conflicts within it; anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period; debates on the subject of colonization. Materials within the collection include books, pamphlets, newspapers, journals, and manuscripts.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides full-text access to all issues of Smithsonian Magazine (1970-present), and issues of Air & Space Magazine published since 1986.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides access to primary source materials from the Smithsonian collection, including catalogs, pamphlets, advertising materials, and ephemera on essential industries that emerged in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, namely steam engines, railroads, motorized vehicles, agricultural/farm machinery, building and construction, mining, and much more.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides access to primary source materials from the Smithsonian collection, including exhibition catalogs, official histories, commemorative accounts, exposition publications, visitors’ guides, lectures, technical reports, promotional publications, and more from landmark exhibits between 1840 to 1923.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Films in this collection are from the Soviet Union as well as Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America, and Cuba.

Contains a range of influential works reflecting the major trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present. Content includes works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault, and Jean Baudrillard.

Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, social work, sociological theory, violence and many others.

Provides online access to all volumes of Something About the Author (1971-present) and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series (1985-present).
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.

Now called OECD iLibrary.

A searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia, focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras.

Provides access to a collection of streaming videos from Healthy Learning, the world's leading producer of sports medicine videos. This collection includes videos on fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.

Provides abstracts and some full-text to thousands of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in the social sciences, including accounting, business, cognitive science, economics, government, and political science.

A scholarly, open-access online encyclopedia covering a full range of philosophical topics.

Includes the official records of the Secretaries of State serving the ruling monarch, from 1509-1782. This collection contains correspondence, reports, memoranda, parliamentary drafts and depositions from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators on almost every subject.

Provides access to statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ACCESS NOTE: The last Statistical Abstract of the United States published by the U.S. Census Bureau was the 2012 edition. The current edition is available in the IU Southeast Library Reference Collection -- HA202 .A3.

Provides access to US Census statistics compiled by the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University.

Provides searchable access to the full text of the newspaper, including all of its supplements, from 1822-2006.
See also Times (London) Digital Archive.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides searchable access to a dataset that includes and classifies every single vote by a Supreme Court justice in all argued cases, from 1946 to the court's last term. Information about specific court cases is searchable by 247 different variables and results can be downloaded into SPSS, Excel, and other analytical software.

Provides the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates from the US Bureau of Economic Analysis.
See also Bureau of Economic Analysis Digital Library.

This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.