The IU Southeast Library is pleased to announce that we now have online access to Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys through the database NetAdvantage. In addition to S&P’s Industry Surveys, NetAdvantage provides to a variety of corporate and industry resources produced by Standard & Poor's, including S&P Register, Investment Reviews, Stock Reports, Bond Reports, and other investment analysis tools.
Check it out today: https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://www.netadvantage.standardandpoors.com
There will be a free Moonlight Breakfast in the Library on Monday, Dec. 6, from 9:00 – 10:30 pm (yes, in the evening!). While supplies last we will be serving mini pancakes w/butter & syrup, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, hash browns, bacon, juice, COFFEE, and water. Drop in or come by after class.
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Saturday - Sunday, Dec. 14 - 15 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, Dec. 16 - 20 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Dec. 21 - 22 | CLOSED |
| Monday, Dec. 23 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Tuesday, Dec. 24 - Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2014 | CLOSED |
| Thursday - Friday, Jan. 2 - 3 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Jan. 4 -5 | CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, Jan. 6 - 10 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Jan. 11 - 12 | CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday Jan. 13, 2014
The library will be having extended hours until exams are over. Limited services after 10p.m. Free coffee will be available after the Library Bistro closes for the evening Monday - Thursday during this time.
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday - Thursday Dec. 2 -5 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Dec. 6 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Dec. 7 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Dec. 8 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday - Thursday Dec. 9 - 12 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Dec. 13 |
8 am - 5 pm |
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday November 25 |
8 am - 10 pm |
| Tuesday - Wednesday November 26 - 27 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Thursday -Friday November 28 - 29 |
CLOSED |
| Saturday November 30 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday December 1 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
The IU Southeast Library is happy to announce access to 19th Century Collections Online, a database of primary source materials in four cross-searchable collections, including:
1. Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange (including US State Department Consular & Diplomatic Records, British Foreign Office Political Correspondence regarding Japan, missionary journals and correspondence).
2. British Politics & Society (including coverage of major political figures, working class radicalism, the Oxford Movement, etc.)
Interim Chancellor Barbara Bichelmeyer cordially invites you to attend a reception honoring our Indiana University Southeast Authors and Artists on Tuesday, November 19, 2013 in the Library’s 1st Floor Art Gallery from 12:15 – 2:00 pm.
This event is sponsored by the IU Southeast Library and the IU Southeast Research and Grants Committee.
The list of honorees is available here: https://www.ius.edu/library/gallery.php
We are pleased to announce a new subscription to HeinOnline! HeinOnline is a premier online research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700's, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
HeinOnline provides exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print. This means that all charts, graphs, tables, pictures, hand written notes, photographs, and footnotes appear where they belong! What makes HeinOnline unique aside from its image-based PDF content is its historical value and the availability of titles back to their inception.
Check it out on our Article & Database Search page!
The 2013 International Photo Contest entries are on display in the Library. Please stop by during International Education Week (November 11th - 15th) to view the photos and and cast votes for your favorites.
All IUS students, faculty and staff are encouraged to enter the 2013 International Photo Contest. The deadline for submissions is November 8, 2013. All photos from international destinations that are received will be anonymously displayed in the IU Southeast Library during International Education Week (November 11th - 15th) for campus voting. The rules and entry form are available here: www.ius.edu/library/diglib/IUSPhotoContestRules.doc.
A new partnership between the Indiana University Alumni Association and the IU libraries offers IUAA members online access to more than 2,000 academic journals and articles through JSTOR and Project MUSE.
JSTOR is a shared digital library, created in 1995, that includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The entire system is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social-sciences content. It includes journals and articles from more than 500 scholarly publications from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science and gender studies. MUSE journals are fully integrated for search and discovery, offering full text of current and archival articles.
IUAA members can access both JSTOR and Project MUSE journals from the IUAA website.
| Dates | Titles |
| September 13 | My Life in France by Julia Child |
| October 11 |
The Solace of Leaving Early by Haven Kimmel |
| November 8 |
The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley |
| December 13 |
The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson |
The IU Southeast Library, with the Center for Cultural Resources, invites all students, faculty, staff, and community members to join us for a reception for “Global Garments Galore". This Friday, September 13th, from 3:30pm-4:30pm in the Library First Floor Art Gallery. Refreshments will be served.
About Global Garments Galore: The CCR Directors have chosen garments from the Center’s collection to represent different cultural areas around the world. These garments, select accessories, fabrics, and other authentic artifacts will be on display in the Library Art Gallery (lower level of the Library) now until September 27th.
Food in the Library? Yes! The Library is hosting a Pizza and Game Night in the Library on Thursday September 12 in the Third Floor Reading Gallery from 7pm until 10 pm. All are welcome!
The IU Southeast Library will be CLOSED MONDAY SEPTEMBER 2 in observance of labor Day. The Library will be OPEN Saturday 9 am - 5 pm and Sunday 12 noon - 6 pm. Regular hours will resume on Tuesday September 3.
The IU Southeast Library & the Center for Cultural Resources (CCR) Board of Directors present the Global Garments Galore exhibit:
The CCR Directors have chosen garments from the Center’s collection to represent different cultural areas around the world.
These garments, select accessories, fabrics, and other authentic artifacts will be on display in the Library Art Gallery (lower level of the Library) now until September 27th.
A reception will be held on Friday, September 13th from 3:30pm-4:30pm.
The IU Southeast Library now offers the ability to download and read eBooks from the EBSCOhost and ebrary platforms on numerous eReaders, tablets, and other mobile devices. Setting this up for the first time requires a few steps, but the library can help! Check out the library’s guide to getting started with downloading eBooks and our video tutorial for step-by-step instructions!
Films on Demand provides access to more than 8,000 streaming videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, science, and health and medicine. The interface allows searching by title and by keywords as well as browsing by title and by subject area. You can also create an account and develop and share playlists and favorites, and set search preferences. All titles have distinct URLs for linking in syllabi, OnCourse, and other web pages.
To sample some titles, viewers might try:
· The War: A Ken Burns Film
· Cancer Cell Research: The Way of All Flesh
· Evidence and Forensics: Due Process
· Hidden People of China
· Brave New Worlds: The Science Fiction Phenomenon
For more information, contact Kate Moore at 812-941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu.
Library CLOSED Friday August 16
The Library will be closed on Friday August 16 for an in-service day.
|
Dates |
Schedule |
| Tuesday - Friday, August 6 - 9 | 8 am - 5 pm |
|
Saturday - Sunday, August 10 - 11 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Thursday, August 12 - 15 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Friday - Sunday, August 16 - 18 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday , August 19 - 23 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, August 24 - 25 | CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday August 26, 2013
A reminder for our August 9th title, The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement by David Brooks.
This is the story of how success happens, told through the lives of one composite American couple, Harold and Erica. Drawing on a wealth of current research from numerous disciplines, Brooks takes Harold and Erica from infancy to old age, illustrating a fundamental new understanding of human nature along the way: The unconscious mind, it turns out, is not a dark, vestigial place, but a creative one, where most of the brain’s work gets done. This is the realm where character is formed and where our most important life decisions are made.
Open Books meets in the Library at 12 noon.
As of August 1, 2013, all databases containing Harvard Business Review (HBR) will experience a change for 500 of the articles. These articles will become read-only, and will be clearly marked as such (e.g. you can view an article on your computer, but cannot print or download it). For example, in Business Source Complete, there are currently 12,824 full-text articles from HBR, and 12,324 will continue to have the existing access functionality.
IU Southeast has online access to Harvard Business Review (HBR) primarily via our subscription to EBSCOhost’s Business Source Premier database. The Library also has a print subscription to Harvard Business Review, with holdings from volume 1 (1922) to the most current issue. Older issues are shelved downstairs; the most current issue is available in the reading area on the main floor.
Please also note that professors and instructors who wish to use HBR articles in class readings should work with Harvard Business Publishing for Educators. At the HBR site, professors can set up course reading lists where the students can purchase the articles needed for class assignments. Professors should not link to HBR articles in Business Source Premier in OnCourse, nor should they tell students that HBR articles in required readings can be found at the library. The statement below is found on every single HBR article in Business Source Premier. It strictly states that if the HBR content is to be used for course materials, then professors and students should purchase the content directly from Harvard Business Publishing.
Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Publishing Newsletter content on EBSCOhost is licensed for the private individual use of authorized EBSCOhost users. It is not intended for use as assigned course material in academic institutions nor as corporate learning or training materials in businesses. Academic licensees may not use this content in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources. Business licensees may not host this content on learning management systems or use persistent linking or other means to incorporate the content into learning management systems. Harvard Business Publishing will be pleased to grant permission to make this content available through such means. For rates and permission, contact permissions@harvardbusiness.org.
Please join the IU Southeast Library in a reception for Nature Prints: Another Kind of Ukiyo-e works by Dr. Douglas Darnowski on July 26th 2013 from 12pm-1pm in the IU Southeast Library Art Gallery. Refreshments will be served.
About Nature Prints: Another Kind of Ukiyo-e Japanese art gives us the ukiyo-e or “Images of the Floating World.” These prints of gardens, temples, and other sites and occasions of the world’s fleeting pleasures are famous in East and West, with Hokusai’s “The Great Wave off Kanagawa” finding all sorts of uses in the West. The images in this show are doubly “Images of the Floating World.” They present fleeting pleasures, like the bright colors of spring pansies depicted using their own pigments, and many also display aquatic creatures, such as carnivorous plants which float in still ponds and whose brief existence brings marvels of natural engineering to the brief summer.
The Library will be CLOSED Thursday July 4 in observance of Independence Day. Regular Hours will resume on Friday July 5.
Please join us on Friday, July 12th at Noon in the IUS Library for a discussion of The Paris Wife by Paula McClain.
Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness—until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking, fast-living, and free-loving life of Jazz Age Paris. As Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history and pours himself into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises, Hadley strives to hold on to her sense of self as her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging. Eventually they find themselves facing the ultimate crisis of their marriage—a deception that will lead to the unraveling of everything they’ve fought so hard for.
The IU Southeast Library Art Gallery is happy to host “Nature Prints: Another Kind of Ukiyo-e,” works by Dr. Douglas Darnowski. This show runs through July 26th 2013; please stop by and check out the exhibit.
About Nature Prints: Another Kind of Ukiyo-e
Japanese art gives us the ukiyo-e or “Images of the Floating World.” These prints of gardens, temples, and other sites and occasions of the world’s fleeting pleasures are famous in East and West, with Hokusai’s “The Great Wave off Kanagawa” finding all sorts of uses in the West. The images in this show are doubly “Images of the Floating World.” They present fleeting pleasures, like the bright colors of spring pansies depicted using their own pigments, and many also display aquatic creatures, such as carnivorous plants which float in still ponds and whose brief existence brings marvels of natural engineering to the brief summer.
Intersession Hours June 20 - 23
|
Dates |
Schedule |
| Thursday - Friday, June 20 - 21 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, June 22 - 23 |
CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday June 24
The Library will be CLOSED on Monday May 27 in observance of Memorial Day. The Library will be OPEN normal operating hours on Saturday (5/25) and Sunday (5/26). Regular hours will resume on Tuesday May 28.
The IU Southeast Library is proud to host Kirsten Goodman's Honors Program Senior Exhibition, Aware, in its Art Gallery (Lower Level). Her sculptures are a vivid call to viewers to the often hidden family struggles and tragedies caused by disease and illness--to be aware of what the ubiquitous awareness ribbons really represent. Her show runs through May 31st 2013; please stop by and check out the exhibit. She is also raising funds for several foundations as part of her project: http://www.facebook.com/events/372271266223555/. 75% of the proceeds will be donated to the foundations.
Please join us for a closing reception with the artist on Friday, May 31st from 5-7pm. Cookies, tea, coffee, and lemonade will be served.
The IU Southeast Library is proud to host Kirsten Goodman's Honors Program Senior Exhibition, Aware, in its Art Gallery (Lower Level). Her sculptures are a vivid call to viewers to the often hidden family struggles and tragedies caused by disease and illness--to be aware of what the ubiquitous awareness ribbons really represent. Her show runs through May 31st 2013; please stop by and check out the exhibit. She is also raising funds for several foundations as part of her project: http://www.facebook.com/events/372271266223555/. 75% of the proceeds will be donated to the foundations.
| Dates | Titles |
| May 10 |
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford |
| June 14 |
The Greater Journey by David McCullough |
| July 12 | The Paris Wife by Paula McClain |
| August 9 | The Social Animal by David Brooks |
|
Dates |
Schedule |
| Wednesday - Friday, May 1 - 3 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, May 4 - 5 |
CLOSED |
| Monday, May 6 |
8 am - 5 pm |
Regular hours resume Tuesday May 7
The library will be having extended hours until exams are over. Limited services after 10p.m. Free coffee will be available after the Library Bistro closes for the evening Monday - Thursday during this time.
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday - Thursday Apr. 15 - 18 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Apr. 19 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Apr. 20 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Apr. 21 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday - Thursday Apr. 22 - 25 | 8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Apr. 26 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Apr. 27 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday April 28 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday April 29 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Tuesday April 30 |
8 am - 8:30 pm |
Please join us next Friday, April 12th at noon at the IU Southeast Library in New Albany for a discussion of Blue Nights by Joan Didion. From one of our most powerful writers, a work of stunning frankness about losing a daughter.
Richly textured with memories from her own childhood and married life with her husband, John Gregory Dunne, and daughter, Quintana Roo, this new book by Joan Didion is an intensely personal and moving account of her thoughts, fears, and doubts regarding having children, illness and growing old.
As she reflects on her daughter’s life and on her role as a parent, Didion grapples with the candid questions that all parents face, and contemplates her age, something she finds hard to acknowledge, much less accept. Blue Nights—the long, light evening hours that signal the summer solstice, “the opposite of the dying of the brightness, but also its warning”—like The Year of Magical Thinking before it, is an iconic book of incisive and electric honesty, haunting and profound.
The Library will be open the normal operating hours during Spring Break, including weekends. Reference help will be available during open hours. There will be no Writing Center consultant during Spring Break (March 23 - 31).
While the Library's proxy server is down, please go to the following link to learn how to access our article databases http://libguides.ius.edu/atozdatabases. If you have any questions or problems, please call Reference-- 812.941.2489.
Chancellor Sandra Patterson-Randles cordially invites you to attend a reception honoring our Indiana University Southeast Authors and Artists, Tuesday March 12, 2013 in the Library's 1st Floor Art Gallery 12:15 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Sponsored by the IU Southeast Library and the Iu Southeast Research and Grants Committee. Refreshments will be served.
The list of honorees is available here: https://www.ius.edu/library/gallery.php
The IU Southeast Library’s website will soon be undergoing a redesign, and we want to make sure that our new site meets your needs. Please take a few minutes to fill out a survey on what you like and don't like about our current site and what you’d like to see on our new site: http://ius.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_eh9D08HqcCPQNPn
If you have any questions about the survey, please contact Kate Moore, Assistant Librarian at IU Southeast (kabmoore@ius.edu).
Open Books Friday February 8th
Please join us next Friday, February 8th at noon at the IU Southeast Library in New Albany for a discussion of Marcus Aurelius’ s Meditations. Written by an intellectual Roman emperor, the Meditations offer a wide range of spiritual reflections developed as the leader struggled to understand himself and the universe. Marcus Aurelius covers topics as diverse as the question of virtue, human rationality, the nature of the gods, and his own emotions, spanning from doubt and despair to conviction and exaltation.
The IU Southeast Library invites you to a reception for the 5th Annual Quilt Show on Friday, January 25th from 12-1pm in the IU Southeast Library Art Gallery (Lower Level).
Cookies, coffee, and tea will be served during the reception
The Library will be CLOSED on Monday January 21 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Regular hours will resume on Tuesday January 22.
Please join us this Friday, January 11th at noon at the IU Southeast Library in New Albany for a discussion of Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff
The Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer brings to life the most intriguing woman in the history of the world: Cleopatra, the last queen of Egypt.
Her palace shimmered with onyx, garnets, and gold, but was richer still in political and sexual intrigue. Above all else, Cleopatra was a shrewd strategist and an ingenious negotiator.
Though her life spanned fewer than forty years, it reshaped the contours of the ancient world. She was married twice, each time to a brother. She waged a brutal civil war against the first when both were teenagers. She poisoned the second. Ultimately she dispensed with an ambitious sister as well; incest and assassination were family specialties. Cleopatra appears to have had sex with only two men. They happen, however, to have been Julius Caesar and Mark Antony, among the most prominent Romans of the day. Both were married to other women. Cleopatra had a child with Caesar and--after his murder--three more with his protégé. Already she was the wealthiest ruler in the Mediterranean; the relationship with Antony confirmed her status as the most influential woman of the age. The two would together attempt to forge a new empire, in an alliance that spelled their ends. Cleopatra has lodged herself in our imaginations ever since.
Dates |
Titles |
| January 11 | Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff |
| February 8 |
Meditations by Marcus Aurelius |
| March 8 |
The Last September by Elizabeth Bowen |
| April 12 |
Blue Nights by Joan Didion |