LibGuides: Library Resources for S333 (Public Relations): Finding Public Relations Articles

Finding Information

Public Relations Journals

Corporate Communications
Journal of Public Affairs
Journal of Public Relations Research
Access is unavailable to the most current year's issues.
Negotiaion Journal
PR News
Public Opinion Quarterly
Access is unavailable to the most current year's issues.
Public Relations Journal
Public Relations Quarterly
Public Relations Review
Public Relations Strategist
Public Relations Tactics
Written Communication

Accessing Journals

To see if the IUS Library provides access to a journal, search our A-Z Journal List.

To see if the IUS Library provides access to an article, try using our Citation Linker.

Key Public Relations Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in communication, mass media, and related areas. Includes the contents of CommSearch (from the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (from Pennsylvania State University) as well as author profiles of some of the most cited authors in the communication and mass media fields.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in the areas of management, library & information services, engineering, applied sciences, and technology.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.
A guide to using Factiva is available: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva.
Proquest Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides the ability to search Proquest databases (ABI/INFORM, Periodicals Archive Online, Dissertations & Theses, etc.) simultaneously.
Video user guides for the Proquest platform are available: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL943D4F9759615B70

Kate Moore

Kate Ziady

she, her

Email Me

Subjects: business, economics, finance

My database search only gave me a citation. Now what?

While many databases contain the full-text of the article right there, sometimes this won't happen. You may conduct a search and get results that only give you an citation and an abstract. So how do you get from the citation to actually getting the article?

Here's where IUCAT comes in. IUCAT is the library catalog, and it tells you what books we own and what journals we subscribe to. You can conduct a Periodical Title Search in IUCAT to find out what the library's holdings are for any journal. You will search for the journal title, not the name of the article, because all IUCAT knows is whether we have the journal or not. It doesn't know what's contained in the journal.

If you cannot locate the journal you want in IUCAT, or if library's holdings do not include the specific issue you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. We will ask another library that does have that specific issue to make a copy of the article and send it here for you in PDF format.

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)

Interlibrary Loan