LibGuides: Statistical Resources: Population

Population and Demographic Statistics

Administration on Aging (US Dept. of Health and Human Services)
Provides access to statistics on senior citizens in America.
American Community Survey
From the US Census Bureau, this resource provides information about age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, commute time to work, and more. Updated every year.
American Factfinder (now called Data.Census.gov)
Provides access to Census Bureau data, including data on population, economic, education, business, housing, income & poverty, and more.
Data.Census.Gov (Explore Census Data)
Provides access to Census Bureau data, including data on population, economic, education, business, housing, income & poverty, and more.
Immigration Statistics (US Dept. of Homeland Security)
Provides access to the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, which provides data on foreign nationals who, during the specified fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions.
Indiana Quick Facts (US Census)
Access to quick facts about the people, business, and geography in Indiana (Quick Facts are also available for all other states)

National Historical Geographic Information System (previously Historical Census Browser) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks. (Our access to this data was previously through the Historical Census Browser from the University of Virginia Library, which is no longer supporting this tool.)
Note:You must create a free username and password for access to summary tables, time series, and GIS-compatible boundary files.

Population Reference Bureau. U.S. Indicators
Provides access to demographic information such as percent population change, total births, total deaths, and much more, that can be viewed in map, tabular, and trend chart formats, by state and county.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
NOTE: As of October 1, 2011, statistics on this website will not be updated. The most current edition is available in the Reference section of the IUS Library (HA202 .A3 1950).
STATS Indiana This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Census statistics compiled by the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University.

U.S. Census Bureau
Most comprehensive demographic survey in the nation.
USA Counties IN Profile (Indiana Business Research Center)
USA Counties IN Profile provides current federal statistics on a select variety of demographic and economic indicators and are updated through the year as new data are released.