Reference Resources

Now called Gale Literature.

Now called Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.

A comprehensive, scholarly, authoritative, and critical overview of Victorian literature and theory. It includes in-depth essays exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, as well as succinct articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.

Provides the ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author from the provider Gale.

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of some of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.

Provides online access to all volumes of Something About the Author (1971-present) and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series (1985-present).
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.

Provides full-text, cross-searchable access to ten of Gale's literature criticism series that include a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Titles included: Contemporary Literary Criticism; 20th-C. Literary Criticism; 19th-C. Literature Criticism; Shakespearean Criticism; Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; Drama Criticism; Children's Literature Review; Literature Criticism 1400-1800.
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.

Now called Gale Literature Criticism.

The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Now called Gale Literature: Something About The Author.