Reference Resources

ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

A comprehensive online encyclopedia devoted to world music research. Includes the full text of the ten volume print encyclopedia as well as hundreds of audio examples.

See Oxford Art Online.

See Oxford Music Online.

Provides access to Indiana-related sheet music, including sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state.

Provides access to the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions and translations of opera arias and art song texts, including works in Latin, German, French, and Italian.

See Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.

Includes abstracts of articles in scholarly journals and popular magazines about all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.

The world's largest online classical music library. Allows users to listen to recordings of classical music, and provides playing times of individual works or movements, detailed music notes, and opera libretti. Also included within this database are synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, and a glossary of musical terms.
NOTE: Please make sure to log out of Naxos' website when finished.

An online art reference source that covers Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the contents of Grove Art Online as well as additional Oxford art reference resources. Provides access to artists' biographies, images of artwork, as well as information on aesthetics, art terms, art movements, styles, theory, and criticism.

An online music reference source that includes the contents of Grove Music Online as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Provides access to articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms, genres, and popular music.

A collection of language and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works published by Oxford University Press. All titles in the collection are cross-searchable; individual titles may be searched separately as well.