LibGuides: Reference Resources: Business Resources

Business Reference Resources

Bureau of Economic Analysis Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides national, international, regional, and industry estimates from the US Bureau of Economic Analysis.
See also Survey of Current Business.

Business Lookup Tool (for Indiana)
Provides a searchable directory of businesses by Indiana county, city, or statewide. Businesses can be narrowed by number of employees or industry. Data is provided by InfoUSA.

County Business Patterns This link opens in a new window
Provides subnational economic data by industry. This resource is updated annually by the US Census, and can be useful for studying the economic activity of small areas, analyzing economic changes over time, and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
Datamonitor Reports This link opens in a new window
Now called MarketLine Reports.
Use Business Source Complete to find company profiles published by MarketLine (formerly DataMonitor).
EDGAR Search This link opens in a new window
A searchable interface for finding financial information submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) on public companies. Includes annual 10-K reports, from 1994 to the present when available
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to independent and up-to-date industry research and analysis, covering over 700 industries of the US economy. IBISWorld reports include in-depth analysis of the underlying structures and external economic factors that drive each industry, as well as the interrelationships between those industries.
IQS Directory This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the original equipment manufacturer (OEM) industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States
Marketline Reports This link opens in a new window
Use Business Source Complete to find company profiles published by MarketLine (formerly DataMonitor).
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Offers financial research on companies & industries, including historical and current financial statements for 15,000 U.S. public companies, as well as financial data on 20,000 non-U.S. companies. Information included for companies: EDGAR reports, business descriptions, property, subsidiaries, executives, long-term debt, capital stock, and more.
STATS Indiana This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Census statistics compiled by the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University.
Survey of Current Business This link opens in a new window
Provides the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates from the US Bureau of Economic Analysis.
See also Bureau of Economic Analysis Digital Library.
Thomas (formerly ThomasNet) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive directory of industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a number of Value Line's publications covering industry and stock performance and analysis, mutual funds, options and convertible securities, as well as special situation stocks.
World Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wealth of international data, including statistics on global finance, development, economic conditions, national governance, business, education, gender, health and nutrition, and more.