Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use scholarly articles?
Scholarly articles are a major resource used in academic research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.
Why use a database?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Social Sciences Databases
Listed below are selected article databases available through the IUS library. This is not an exhaustive list. To see the full list of database options available, see the article and database page on the library homepage.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts and citations from numerous journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable full-text and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. PsycARTICLES contains all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as 1840.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in communication, mass media, and related areas. Includes the contents of CommSearch (from the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (from Pennsylvania State University) as well as author profiles of some of the most cited authors in the communication and mass media fields.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database, full text for 253 "core" journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" journals. Includes full text for 547 books and conference papers.