It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for D510: Natural Sciences Article Databases
This guide is designed to connect students in D510 to resources needed for library research.
Scholarly articles are a major resource used in academic research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.
Why use a database?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Natural Sciences Databases
Listed below are selected article databases available through the IUS library. This is not an exhaustive list. To see the full list of database options available, see the article and database page on the library homepage.
Provides access to the full-text of over 750 journals in nursing and allied health, as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and audiovisuals. Also provides indexing for over 4,600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 5,6000 current biomedical journals and MEDLINE with Full Text provides access to the full text of over 1,400 of those journals.
Scopus is a citation and abstracting database that provides comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Provides full-text access to over 1,000 scholarly journals and 2,000 online books in the humanities, medicine, social sciences, science, and technology fields. Journal access is from the mid-1990's to the present.