LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: N

Finding Information

N

National Academies Press
NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
NCJRS Virtual Library (formerly National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database)
Provides summaries of criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.
National Geographic Magazine
Provides full-text access to all issues of National Geographic published between 1888 and the current issue, and issues of National Geographic Traveler, 2010-present.
National Security Archive
See Digital National Security Archive.
Nature

Full-text and images from the popular science journal. We have access from 1869 to present.
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a personal account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your SpringerNature account.
2. From the My Account drop-down menu, select Manage your account.
3. Click on your email address, update your email address, and click the Update email address button.
4. You will receive an email from SpringerNature with the subject, “Confirm email change.” Click the link in the email to confirm the change.
5. Enter your SpringerNature password when prompted and click the Update email address button.
Naxos Music Library

The world's largest online classical music library. Allows users to listen to recordings of classical music, and provides playing times of individual works or movements, detailed music notes, and opera libretti. Also included within this database are synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, and a glossary of musical terms.
NOTE: Please make sure to log out of Naxos' website when finished.
One Mail Instructions
If you created a student playlist account using your ius.edu email address, you must create a new account using your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.
1. Export any playlists saved on your existing Naxos account to your device.
2. Create a student playlist account with your @iu.edu email address.
3. Upload the playlists you saved to your device to your new account.
Add the Naxos player to your phone
1. Create a student playlist account with your @iu.edu email address.
2. Download the Naxos player app.
3. Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in your email.
NetLibrary

Now called eBook Collection on EBSCOhost.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
New Albany Tribune
The New Albany Tribune and the Jeffersonville Evening News merged to form News & Tribune in March 2011.
News and Tribune

Provides access to today's issues of the News & Tribune (formed when the Jeffersonville Evening News and the New Albany Tribune merged) as well as a searchable archive of previous issues from 2006-present.
NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers
Provides links to full-text historical newspapers from the United States and the Caribbean. Current content is primarily from the Southeastern United States.
Newspaper Source (formerly Newspaper Source Plus)

A full-text digital collection of national and world newspapers, newswires, news magazines, and television and radio news transcripts. Contributors include ABC News (American), ABC (Australian), AP (Associated Press), CBC (Canadian), CBS News, CNN Wire, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China).
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
NewsVault (now called Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper/Periodical Databases)
Provides access to several archival Gale newspaper collections, including the British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), Daily Mail Historical Archive, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Illustrated London News Historical Archive, Independent Digital Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Listener Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Nineteenth Century US Newspapers, Picture Post Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive, Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts
Provides streaming access to over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films.
New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) Digital Archive
Provides access to the digitized archive of the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS).
New York Times (Historical) with Index

See Historical New York Times with Index.
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth Century Electronic Scholarship)
A scholarly search engine for finding digitized texts from and about the nineteenth century, focusing primarily on British and American history. Some collections searched are freely available as full-text; others only provide access to citation information.
ACCESS NOTE: Must be on-campus in order to access some of the subscription collections searched through this search engine (i.e. JSTOR, Project Muse, and any Alexander Street Press collection).
Nineteenth Century British Newspapers
Now called British Library Newspapers.
19th Century Collections Online
See Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Nineteenth Century Index
See 19th Century Index.
19th Century UK Periodicals
See Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
See Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.
Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and provides the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Includes personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories of immigrants who came to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
North American Indian Drama
Provides full text access to over 150 plays as well as original essays, reviews, interviews, photographs, production histories, and articles on Native playwrights and plays. Plays in the collection depict traditional creation stories, oral histories, and rituals as well as modern issues such as tribal and individual searches for identity, spirituality and connections to nature, poverty and its accompanying struggles, and much more.
North American Women's Drama
Provides searchable access to original plays by more than 300 women from colonial times to the present. Each play is extensively indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-field searching. Additional resources include selected playbills, photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Full-text access to the letters and diaries of over a thousand North American women, from the 17th century to the present. Also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Theatre in Context Online Collection
Provides detailed reference information on all aspects of Canadian and American theatre, as well as links to plays and related Web sites. Database also includes access to photographs, playbills, postcards, posters, scrapbooks, and other ephemera.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

IUS Databases A-Z: N

Finding Information

N

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Add the Naxos player to your phone

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Ask a Librarian

Featured Database