LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: E

Finding Information

E

e-EROS (Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis)
A database of around 70,000 reactions and more than 4,000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and catalysts, and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type and experimental conditions.
Early American Fiction, 1789-1875
A collection of the full-text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1875 by major and minor authors of the period.
Early American Newspapers, Series 6 & 7
This collection includes over 300 hundred significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, including titles of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city dailies. Series 6 of Early American Newspapers includes newspapers published between 1741-1922. Its theme is national debates of the mid-19th century. Series 7 of Early American Newspapers includes newspapers published between 1773-1922. Its theme is the rise of the 19th-century independent press.
Early Americas Digital Archive
A collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Contains letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts of the peoples, cultures, and environment of North America between 1400-1800.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
This collection includes virtually all books printed between 1473-1700 in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere during this time period.
Early English Prose Fiction, 1500-1700
Contains 211 works in English prose by writers from the British Isles from the period 1500-1700. Includes the works of well-known authors such as John Bunyan and Sir Philip Sidney as well as collections of tales, jest-books, and satires.
East India Company
Provides access to a collection of India Office Records from the British Library. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.
Ebook Collection on EBSCOhost

Provides access to a collection of electronic books, both scholarly and popular, in a variety of disciplines and subject areas.
NOTE: Click here for a guide to searching, viewing, and downloading ebooks from the Ebook Collection on EBSCOhost.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
ebrary Academic Complete Ebook Collection
Now called Proquest Ebook Central Academic Complete e-Book Collection.
EBSCOhost Databases

Provides the ability to search Ebscohost databases (Academic Search Elite, Business Source Elite, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, etc.) simultaneously.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Economist Historical Archive
Provides fully-searchable, cover to cover access of The Economist from 1843 to fifteen years ago. Also includes The Economist's supplements, Special Reports, and Surveys.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
EDGAR Search
A searchable interface for finding financial information submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) on public companies. Includes annual 10-K reports, from 1994 to the present when available
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Includes eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Education in Video
Provides access to a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
See 18th Century Collections Online.

The database contains more than 32 million pages of text and more than 205,000 individual volumes in all. In addition, ECCO natively supports OCR-based full-text searching of this corpus.
Coverage: 18th century
Simultaneous User Limit: Unlimited simultaneous users
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the Stage
See 18th Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the Stage.
18th Century Fiction
See Eighteenth Century Fiction.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
See 18th Century Journals Portal.
Elsevier ScienceDirect
See ScienceDirect.
Emerald Insight
Provides full-text access to journals in the areas of management, library & information services, engineering, applied sciences, and technology.
Empire Online
Spanning five centuries, and charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, this resource explores colonial history, politics, culture and society.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online

An authoritative general reference database with contributions from Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors and other notable experts. It includes the Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources, including the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, select magazine and journal articles, thousands of photographs and illustrations, and links to additional websites reviewed by the Britannica editors.

AI Research Tool
Our subscription includes access to the Ask Brittanica AI chatbot which answers questions using information and insights from Britannica's collection of articles.
Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature
A comprehensive, scholarly, authoritative, and critical overview of Victorian literature and theory. It includes in-depth essays exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, as well as succinct articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.
English Drama, 1280-1915
Contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late 13th to early 20th centuries. Coverage includes dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. Includes works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge, as well as numerous lesser known writers.
English Poetry
A comprehensive collection of English poetry from the 8th century to the early 20th.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text access to scholarly education and education-related journals from 1966 to the present. Also includes full-text access to most ERIC documents from 1996 to the present.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Ernest and Young Library
Provides access to the web version of Ernst & Young's popular tax library. Offers a wealth of tax and business knowledge on more than 60 countries.
Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films
A collection of streaming videos covering human culture and behavior. This collection includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; select feature films; and documentaries focusing on global current issues such as the environmental crises, refugee migration, and endangered languages.
See also: Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750

Provides an index to books, pamphlets, government documents, and broadsides about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Topics covered include natural disasters, European exploration, portrayals of native American peoples, slavery, and disease.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Evening News (Jeffersonville, IN)

The Jeffersonville Evening News & the New Albany Tribune merged to form News & Tribune in March 2011.
Everyday Life & Women in America, c.1800-1920
This collection includes monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing topics such as political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, health, sexuality and family life in America during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

IUS Databases A-Z: E

Finding Information

E

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

AI Research Tool

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Ask a Librarian

Featured Database