IUS Databases A-Z: F

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.

The FASB Accounting Standards Codification® is the source of authoritative generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) recognized by the FASB to be applied to nongovernmental entities. 
ACCESS NOTE: This resource requires registration. Register for a free "Basic" account here.

Now called govinfo.

A digital collection of historical documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) collected during the surveillance of numerous African American individuals and the infiltration of a variety of organizations from 1920 to 1984.

A digital collection of historical documents, mostly in Spanish, covering Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women, and the legal status of Cuban women spanning the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. This collection includes personal letters, journal essays, excerpts from published novels and poetry, radio broadcasts, public speeches, as well as memoirs from women’s congresses.

Includes an index of some of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.

Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, this resource includes information on entertainment films and personalities from early silent movies to the present. Coverage is international, with films from over 170 countries included. Film records include information on the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release as well as awards and a synopsis. Person records include biographical information, awards received, and a complete list of films.

Provides access to more than 8,000 high-quality educational streaming videos, including documentaries, archival primary source materials, broadcast journalism features, and curriculum-focused videos.
This resource works best with the Google Chrome browser.

Please note: The Financial Times allows access to current IU faculty, staff, and students only. The Financial Times does NOT permit content and/or articles from the FT to be hosted on any website, including Canvas. 

Daily British newspaper covering global finance, economics, industry, energy, and international politics. Individual registration is required for access. Click more info for instructions on creating an FT account with your @iu.edu email. Students will be prompted to provide their anticipated graduation date in order to complete the registration process.

Additional Information:

Current IU faculty, staff, or students may follow these instructions for creating an FT account. Individual registration is required for access and users must use their @iu.edu email (campus-specific domains are not accepted). Here are the instructions for account setup:

1. Go to Financial Times
2. Click "Sign In" at the top right of the screen
3. Enter your @iu.edu email address---campus-specific domains (@ius.edu) are not accepted
4. Click "Next"
5. Choose SSO sign in
6. Authenticate through IU Login
7. Enter required information 

Optional questions may follow regarding your additional preferences. Users may move past this section by selecting skip.

Provides access to the Financial Times, the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper, from 1888-2010.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Includes access to four Adam Matthew Digital World War I collections, and includes a range of visual and documentary sources such as photographs, diaries, leaflets, posters, postcards, film clips, manuscripts, and rare printed material and ephemera. Collections include: The First World War: A Global Conflict: The material in this collection covers the contribution of soldiers who took part from all corners of the world, including colonial territories, and documents events and battles that occurred internationally, in the Middle East, Africa and Russia.The First World War: Personal Experiences: This collection of primary source documents offers information on subjects such as daily life in the army, trench warfare, training and discipline, food, weapons, equipment, health and medicine. The First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment: This collection focuses on all types of propaganda produced during the Great War of 1914-1918. The First World War: Visual Perspectives and Narratives: This collection presents international perspectives on major events during the war.

Provides access to archival content, videos, books, and visual ephemera that explore how food shapes the world.

Provides access to British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. This collection makes available eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and more.

Provides access to British Foreign Office files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

Provides access to UK government documents from the Foreign Office relating to Japan. These documents cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States.

Provides access to British Foreign Office files for Middle East in the 1970s. Events covered include the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese civil war and the Iranian Revolution.

FDO Professional is a database of more than 140,000 funders, including foundations, corporations, and federal agencies. It provides access to in-depth profiles of each grant maker plus information about the grants they have funded.
Note: FDO is available to IUS faculty, staff, and students on and off-campus, as well as to the general public (in the IU Southeast library only).

This collection documents settler existence on the frontiers of the US east coast, mid-west, west and Mexico border, Canada, South Africa and Australia, between 1650-1920. Major themes include exploration, law and order, gold rushes, encounters with indigenous peoples, trade and commerce, dispossession, missionaries and religion, governance, death and disease and agriculture.

A general online encyclopedia with over 25,000 records covering a variety of topics.

This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.