LibGuides: Library Resources for Company, Industry, and Consumer Data: Finding Company Data

Finding Information

Finding data on non-profit companies

GuideStar
Provides access to information about nonprofit organizations, including their mission, programs, leaders, goals, accomplishments, and needs.
Access Note: Requires free registration.

Finding data on for-profit companies

Use these resources to find a wealth of data about a particular company, ranging from general company profiles to SWOT analyses to financial data including balance sheets, income statements, and financial ratios. Please note that smaller companies may not be listed in some of these databases.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
EDGAR Search This link opens in a new window
A searchable interface for finding financial information submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) on public companies. Includes annual 10-K reports, from 1994 to the present when available

Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

Marketline Reports This link opens in a new window
Use Business Source Complete to find company profiles published by MarketLine (formerly DataMonitor).
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Offers financial research on companies & industries, including historical and current financial statements for 15,000 U.S. public companies, as well as financial data on 20,000 non-U.S. companies. Information included for companies: EDGAR reports, business descriptions, property, subsidiaries, executives, long-term debt, capital stock, and more.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a number of Value Line's publications covering industry and stock performance and analysis, mutual funds, options and convertible securities, as well as special situation stocks.
Click here for a downloadable guide to using Value Line.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Library Hours

We are available when the Library is open.