Federal Government Departments

The Department of Agriculture provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues.

Online reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns published by the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and various USDA agencies

The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.

The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. General statistical topics include: animal products, crops, farm economy, farm practice and management, food and nutrition assistance, food choices and health, food markets and price, food safety, natural resources and the environment, and more.

Provides statistics about agriculture specific to Indiana.

The National Agricultural Statistics Service provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.

Provides information about programs from the USDA focused on animal health & welfare, biotechnology, emergency response to natural disasters, imports & exports, plant health, wildlife, and more.

Provides access to dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.

Provides access to the current and previous editions of the Dietary Guidelines. The latest edition of the Dietary Guidelines reflects the current body of nutrition science, helps health professionals and policymakers guide Americans to make healthy food and beverage choices, and serves as the science-based foundation for vital nutrition policies and programs across the United States.

Search for local farmers markets. Includes locations, operating times, product offerings, accepted forms of payment, and more.

Provides data and research on all major FNS Programs, including the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP); the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC); Child Nutrition Programs (National School Lunch, School Breakfast, Child and Adult Care, Summer Food Service and Special Milk); and Food Distribution Programs.

FoodNet is a collaborative project among FSIS, CDC, and FDA to identify, control, and prevent foodborne disease hazards.

Provides information about US national forests and grasslands.

Provides One Stop Shopping for natural resources or environmental geospatial data at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD for use in GIS software.

Provides access to climate data, watershed boundary data, economic data on conservation initiatives, national resources, and more.