This research guide provides information about the 15 federal executive branch government departments, and links to useful statistics and additional resources provided by each branch.
The Department of Homeland Security works to improve the security of the United States. The Department's work includes customs, border, and immigration enforcement, emergency response to natural and manmade disasters, antiterrorism work, and cybersecurity.
Statistics from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security
The official Customs and Border Protection (CBP) website. Includes statistics on border security, immigration, international travel and trade, CBP's use of force, and more.
Provides access to the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, which provides data on foreign nationals who, during the specified fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions.
Additional Useful Links from the Department of Homeland Security
Provides access to documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
Access Note: When accessing this resource from off campus, you may receive notification that the website certificate is not valid. (This is due to the URL having a double SSL connection.) To access the site you will need to either click okay on the warning (Internet Explorer) or click to add an exception (Firefox).
The official website of the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. Provides access to important forms (including the I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification, which is used for verifying the identity and employment authorization of individuals hired for employment in the United States), and information about US citizenship and green cards.
Provides information about high-impact types of security activity affecting the community at large; advice about common security issues for the general public; in-depth analysis on new or evolving cyber threats; and more.
The official website of FEMA. Provides information about assistance for current disasters and information about declared emergencies and major disasters dating back to 1953.
Ready is a National public service campaign designed to educate and empower the American people to prepare for, respond to and mitigate emergencies, including natural and man-made disasters.
The official website of the U.S Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). Provides answers to frequently asked questions about ICE, background information, statistics, and more.
Blue Campaign is a national public awareness campaign, designed to educate the public, law enforcement and other industry partners to recognize the indicators of human trafficking, and how to appropriately respond to possible cases.
