Federal Government Departments

The Department of Commerce works with businesses, universities, communities, and the Nation’s workers to promote job creation, economic growth, sustainable development, and improved standards of living for Americans.

Provides national, international, regional, and industry estimates from the US Bureau of Economic Analysis. Statistical topics include gross domestic product (GDP), personal income and outlays, consumer spending, corporate profits, and much more.

BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence decisions of government officials, business people, and individuals. These statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy. The data on this page are drawn from featured BEA economic accounts.

From the US Census Bureau, this resource provides information about age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, commute time to work, and more. Updated every year.

Provides access to Census Bureau data, including data on population, economic, education, business, housing, income & poverty, and more.

The Regional Analyst Edition of Census Business Builder is primarily for chambers of commerce and regional planning staff who need a broad portrait of the people and businesses in their service area. It presents data for all sectors of the economy and for a user-defined region made up of one or more areas.

The Small Business Edition of Census Business Builder is primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. It presents data for a single type of business at a time.

Provides access to Census Bureau data, including data on population, economic, education, business, housing, income & poverty, and more.

The Economic Census profiles U.S. industries every five years. National, state, county, city, and metro area statistics are available.

Most comprehensive demographic survey in the nation.

Provides access to a repository of publications and reports on programs, technologies and compiled statistical data useful to minority business enterprises.

Provides access to an inventory of all NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) data collections.

Climate.gov provides a public-friendly point of entry to NOAA’s and our partners’ diverse portfolios of climate data and information.

NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information.

Provides data on the ocean, land, atmosphere, and solar-terrestrial environments.

The National Weather Service provides weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.

Provides information about about doing business in over 125 countries, including a broad overview of the market, the political and economic environment, trade regulations, customs, and standards, the investment climate, and more.

Provides full-text access to all US patents granted by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) since 1976, and descriptive information for all patents granted from 1790 through 1975.