LibGuides: Federal Government Departments: Health & Human Services

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services protects the health of all Americans and provides essential human services.

Statistics from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Administration on Aging (US Dept. of Health and Human Services)
Provides access to statistics on senior citizens in America.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US Dept. of Health & Human Services)
Provides statistics on healthcare use and spending, insurance coverage, accessibility and cost of care, and more.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Data on health risk factors in communities–-can search by state, topic, etc.
CDC Wonder (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system of information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention available to public health professionals and the public at large.
Children's Bureau Data and Research (US Dept. of Health & Human Services)
Using information collected through various monitoring and reporting systems, the Children's Bureau analyzes and reports data on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.
National Center for Health Statistics (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
A compilation of statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve health.
National Institute of Mental Health
Statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
OrganDonor.org
Provides current statistics about the organ donation waiting list, organ transplants, donors, and more.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Provides access to mental health & substance abuse statistics.

Additional Useful Links from the Department of Health & Human Services

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
Provides information on toxic substances, health hazards, and emergency response to hazardous materials incidents.
Birth/Death/Marriage/Divorce Certificates
This website has a link to vital records offices for all 50 states. It is through the state office you obtain vital records such as birth, death, marriage, and divorce certificates.
Cancer.gov (National Cancer Institute)
Provdes access to credible, and comprehensive information about cancer prevention and screening, diagnosis and treatment, research across the cancer spectrum, clinical trials, and news and links to other NCI websites. The information on this site is science-based, authoritative, and up-to-date.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Online source for credible health information.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Consumer Information (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
Provides updates and information for staying safe and healthy. Topics covered include food, drugs, medical devices, animals and veterinary care, cosmetics, vaccines, tobacco, and more.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans
Provides access to the current and previous editions of the Dietary Guidelines. The latest edition of the Dietary Guidelines reflects the current body of nutrition science, helps health professionals and policymakers guide Americans to make healthy food and beverage choices, and serves as the science-based foundation for vital nutrition policies and programs across the United States.
U.S. Food & Drug Administration
The official website of the FDA features news, recalls and safety alerts, and relevant statutes and regulations. Specific sections of the website are tailored to consumers, industry, health professionals, and state and local officials.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to: encourage collaborations across communities and sectors; empower individuals toward making informed health decisions; and measure the impact of prevention activities.

HealthCare.gov This link opens in a new window
Search for health insurance coverage.

HIV.gov
Provides access to Federal HIV policies, programs, and resources to the American public.
Hospital Compare
Hospital Compare has information about the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals, including over 130 Veterans Administration (VA) medical centers, across the country. You can use Hospital Compare to find hospitals and compare the quality of their care.
Medicare.gov
The official website for Medicare contains information regarding enrollment, plan choices, prescription drug plan, long-term care, preventive services, billing and appeals. Also includes news and basic explanation of Medicare.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 5,6000 current biomedical journals and MEDLINE with Full Text provides access to the full text of over 1,400 of those journals.
Note: MEDLINE with Full Text is available to IU Southeast students, faculty, staff both on and off-campus, and to IU Southeast community borrowers in the library only. MEDLINE Plus is freely available to everyone.

National Institute of Nursing Research
This government institute site presents research information and publications on topics such as end-of-life care, pediatrics, women's health, and older adults. Also includes information about diversity programs, conference listings, and related links.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Health information from the NIH.
Recalls, Market Withdrawals, & Safety Alerts (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
Provides information gathered from press releases and other public notices about certain recalls of FDA-regulated products.
Note: Not all recalls have press releases or are posted on this page.
Reports of the Surgeon General
Contains official reports, conference and workshop reports, and proceedings from the Office of the Surgeon General.
President's Council on Sports, Fitness & Nutrition
Provides information about the PCSFN, which works to increase sports participation among youth of all backgrounds and abilities and to promote healthy and active lifestyles for all Americans. Includes access to the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans.
Vaccines & Immunizations (Centers for Disease Control)
Provides information on vaccines and immunizations