Skip to main content

IUS Databases by Subject: Help

Database FAQs

Can't find what you're looking for?  Reference Librarians can help!  Call us (812-941-2489) or email us with any questions you have about the new website, finding resources for your papers, or where to start your research.  Below you can also find some frequently asked questions that may be useful to you:

General FAQ:

Why do I keep getting an error message that "The connection has timed out The server at proxyse.uits.iu.edu is taking too long to respond."?

Are all of the databases listed here available from home?

Why am I not able to access the full-text of an article I need?

I've found the article I want, but the website is asking me to pay for it.  Do I have to?

I've found the article I want, now how do I cite it in my paper?

Can alumni and community borrowers use the library's online resources?

Whenever I try to log in from home, I get an error message about cookies.  What can I do to fix this?

Some of the databases on these pages have anicon.  What does that mean?

How do I set up direct links to articles from the library's databases (for use on Oncourse or my course syllabus) so that they work from off-campus?

How do I request access to library subscription electronic resources on another IU campus?

Why do I keep getting an error message that "The connection has timed out The server at proxyse.uits.iu.edu is taking too long to respond?"

This usually means that our proxy server is experiencing technical difficulties.  Below are some instructions for accessing our resources while our proxy server is off-line:

If you're on campus, you can still access databases by:

1) Copying the URL of the database you want to access (e.g. Academic Search Premier: http://proxyse.uits.iu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph)

2) Removing everything up to and including the "=" (e.g. leaving "http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph" for Academic Search Premier)

3) Pasting this revised URL into a web browser.

If you are off campus, you can still access most databases by:

1) Installing Pulse Secure SSL VPN client software from IUWare: https://kb.iu.edu/d/aygt#down

2) Connect to to the VPN: https://kb.iu.edu/d/aygt#connect

3) From our Articles & Database page, copy the URL of the database you want to access (e.g. Academic Search Premier: http://proxyse.uits.iu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph)

4) Removing everything up to and including the "=" (e.g. leaving "http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph" for Academic Search Premier)

5) Pasting this revised URL into a web browser.


Are all of the databases listed here available from home?

For the most part, yes!  Unless specifically stated, all of our databases available in our A-Z list and the Subject Database list are available to IUS students, faculty, and staff from on campus as well as off campus.  If you're off campus, you will be asked to log in after you've clicked on your database of choice.  Just type in your IUS username and password (the same one you use for One.IU and Canvas).

 

Why am I not able to access the full-text of an article I need?

The IUS Library databases provide access to both full-text articles as well as citations and/or abstracts of articles.  For articles that do not have a PDF or HTML link, we may still have the full-text available elsewhere.  Click on the "Find Full Text" or "360 Link to Full Text" link:

 

to see if the article you need is available in another IUS Library database.  If you're still not able to find the full-text, you can submit an interlibrary loan request.

 

I've found the article I want, but the website is asking me to pay for it.  Do I have to?

No!  You should first see if the IUS Library provides access to the article.  You can check to see if we have the article you want by searching for the journal title in our Full Text Journals A-Z List.  If we don't have it in print or online, you can submit an interlibrary loan request.

 

I've found the article I want, now how do I cite it in my paper?

The IUS Writing Center, located in Knobview 208 can help you with your citations.  You can also check out Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) for examples and explanations of how to cite in APA and MLA formats.

 

Can alumni and community borrowers use the library's online resources?

We are unable to provide off-campus access to the IUS Library's resources to alumni and community borrowers due to database licensing restrictions.  Alumni and community borrowers can, however, access our resources from inside the library anytime we're open.  Indiana residents are also able to use the academic databases that are available through INSPIRE, Indiana's Virtual Library.  Kentucky residents are able to use the databases available through the Kentucky Virtual Library.  To see a list of recommended freely available resources, check our our Research Resources for IUS Alumni & Local Community Members.  

 

Whenever I try to log in from home, I get an error message about cookies.  What can I do to fix this?

When you get the following error message, you'll probably have to adjust your privacy settings to allow cookies from IUS:

This is cookie.htm from the docs subdirectory.

Licensing agreements for these databases require that access be extended only to authorized users. Once you have been validated by this system, a "cookie" is sent to your browser as an ongoing indication of your authorization to access these databases. It will only need to be set once during login.

As you access databases, they may also use cookies. Your ability to use those databases may depend on whether or not you allow those cookies to be set.

To login again, click here.

For Internet Explorer users, under the "Tools" menu option, choose "Internet Options."  Click on the "Privacy" tab.  Under "Settings" on the Privacy tab, click on "Sites."From this screen, you can manage which sites you will allow to use cookies.  Under "Address of website," add ius.edu.  Click on "Allow."  Click "OK."  You may then have to refresh your browser before you can access the database you need.

For Firefox users, under the "Tools" menu option, click on "Options."  From the left menu, choose "Privacy."  Under History, change the default from "Remember history," to "Use custom settings for history."  If "Accept cookies from sites" is not checked, you can either a) check it and allow all third parties cookies, or b) click on "Exceptions" and add ius.edu.  You may then have to refresh your browser before you can access the database you need.

 

Some of the databases on these pages have anicon.  What does that mean?

This icon indicates that there is additional information about the database.  If you click on the "little i" a text box with more information about accessing the database will pop up. 

 

How do I set up direct links to articles from the library's databases (for use on Oncourse or my course syllabus) so that they work from off-campus?

You will need to format the links in a way that redirects them through our EZproxy server.  (If you don't do this, the links will work on campus, but not from off-campus.)  Links to resources that are freely available or links that already begin with http://proxyse.uits.iu.edu/login?url= do not need to be formatted.  To format links, add the following string to the beginning of the URL: http://proxyse.uits.iu.edu/login?url=

 

How do I request access to electronic resources available on another IU campus?

Requests for The "Request Educational Access to Library Subscription Electronic Resources on Another Campus" form must be filled out to request access to electronic resources available on another IU campus: http://new.libraries.iub.edu/request-form-educational-access-electronic-resources.

Please note that this access is "to allow students or faculty members taking classes/teaching on a campus other than their own to access library electronic subscription resources from the second campus."  The full policy and procedures are available here: http://new.libraries.iub.edu/educational-access-library-electronic-resources.

Ask a Librarian

Library Logo

A Reference Librarian is available during normal library hours:

M-Thur: 8am-10pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 9am-5pm​
Sun: 12pm-6pm

Or call us at 812-941-2489

Ask us through email

IUS Library Chat Logo

 

Search for journals, magazines, and newspapers

Database of the Month

ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection logo