A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:
In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.
Provides access to profiles that include information on the country's history, politics, and economic background. Audio and video clips from BBC archives are also included when available.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.
The executive department responsible for international relations. The State Department's website includes the information about ambassadors to other countries, and diplomatic and economic relations between the U.S. and over 200 countries and regions.
Provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Browsable by country, general topic, and indicator.
International Organizations & Foreign Government Information
The website for the United Nations, which includes information about the organization as well as reports, fact sheets, and other information related to their initiatives.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
Provides online access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals, statistics, and databases.
Provides access to a wealth of international data, including statistics on global finance, development, economic conditions, national governance, business, education, gender, health and nutrition, and more.
