A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:
In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.
The official directory of the U.S. Congress. It includes biographies, committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, room and telephone numbers, and more for each member of the Senate and House, from 1997 to the present.
The official website of the U.S. House of Representatives. This site provides access to current legislative activity, the ability to find your representative (by zip code), background information about the U.S. House of Representatives, and general information about currently serving representatives.
Provides information about representatives and senators in Congress including bill sponsorship, voting record, and committee assignment; the status of federal legislation; and original research on legislation and congressional oversight & investigations. This site is maintained by Civic Impulse, LLC, an independent, non-profit organization.
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. This site includes the full text of bills from the 101st Congress (1989) to the present.
The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.
Provides access to the permanent and general laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles. Note: See also U.S. Statutes at Large (chronological arrangement of all laws enacted by Congress). The U.S. Code is a subject arrangement of all general and permanent U.S. law so enacted.
Contains the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress. Note: See also U.S. Code (subject arrangement of all laws enacted by Congress). The U.S. Statutes at Large is a chronological arrangement of all laws enacted by Congress.
An independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress which investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. Their website provides access to reports published by the GAO.
Created and updated by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C., this resource provides links to information about congressional and legislative history and guides to researching laws and legislation.
Provides access to the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress (1774-1781) and Constitutional Convention (1787) through the 43rd Congress (1873–1875).
Provides access to several congressional and legislative collections including GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions, editions of the U.S. Code (from 1925/1926); the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (from 1978-date); U.S. Statutes at Large (from 1789/1799-date); and other congressional documents. Note: This resource is available to IU Southeast students, faculty, and staff on and off-campus; and community borrowers who are physically present in the library.
Provides access to briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings that document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (NCAIDS). Topics concerning AIDS covered in this collection include: healthcare, treatment, and international aspects of the HIV epidemic; the Southern California epidemic; social and human issues; executive and legislative branch issues; research and clinical trials; women and HIV disease and civil rights; religious communities response; risks of transmission in healthcare settings; and more.
