Government Information

A digital collection of documents from the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to Afghanistan between 1945 and 1963. Materials include special reports on political and military affairs; studies on socioeconomic matters; minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings; full texts of important letters and instructions sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; translated foreign journals and newspapers; translated foreign government documents.

A platform for digital collections of historical documents provided by Gale. Collections available at IUS focus on African American studies, African studies, American studies, Asian studies, British and European history, business and economic history, cultural studies, gender, sexuality, & women's studies, health and environmental studies, international relations, Latin American and Caribbean studies, law, politics, & radical studies, Middle Eastern studies, and Native American studies.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Now called U.S Declassified Documents Online.

Declassified primary documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions since 1945. Currently there are 50 collections, each with a particular focus on a world event, country, or U.S. policy decision, including the Cuban Missile Crisis, U.S. espionage, the Iran-Contra Affair, the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War.

A digital collection of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party. This collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.

A digital collection of primary documents on slavery that includes information on the abolitionist movement and conflicts within it; anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period; debates on the subject of colonization. Materials within the collection include books, pamphlets, newspapers, journals, and manuscripts.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.