LibGuides: Government Information: The Supreme Court & the Judicial Branch

Resources about the Supreme Court & the Federal Judiciary

U.S. Courts
Provide information from and about the judicial branch of the U.S. Government, including the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. Court of Appeals, and U.S. District Courts.
U.S. Court Opinions
Provides access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts (from 2004 to the present).
U.S. Supreme Court
Information about the Supreme Court. Current opinions (2007-present) and orders (2003-present) are included.

Oyez Project: U.S. Supreme Court Media
The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. The site features digitized outtakes from tape recordings of oral arguments on cases going back to 1955 and is searchable chronologically (by chief justice), or by case (by case or by docket number). It also includes a "deep-dive" feature giving video reports by legal scholars on the background of certain cases.
Supreme Court Database
Provides searchable access to a dataset that includes and classifies every single vote by a Supreme Court justice in all argued cases, from 1946 to the court's last term. Information about specific court cases is searchable by 247 different variables and results can be downloaded into SPSS, Excel, and other analytical software.

U.S. Reports
Provides access to the Supreme Court’s opinions, from 1991 to the present.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.
U.S. Sentencing Commission
Provides access to sentencing guidelines for the federal courts created by the Commission, as well as research related to criminal cases, sentencing, and prisons.
Glossary of Supreme Court Terms
Provides definitions of common legal terms.

Commercial Databases

Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
This collection includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases before the U.S. Supreme Court between 1832-1978.
Note: This resource is only available to IU Southeast students, faculty, and staff off-campus. Community members with borrower cards can access this resource in the library only.