Skip to main content

Government Information

Use this guide to find government information (e.g. government documents, government publications, etc.) available from the IU Southeast Library.

Temporary Inaccessibility of Physical Government Documents

The IU Southeast Library is open to IU students, faculty, and staff, but in an effort to contain the spread of COVID-19, non-IU community members are being asked to not come to campus. From March 16th, we will not be able to provide access to physical items in our Federal depository library collection to the general public.

Access to our online Government information is available as usual through this website, other LibGuides, and our catalog. Questions about Government information will be answered by a reference librarian by telephone (please leave us a voicemail and we will call you back) and email.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and we will provide full access again as soon as possible. In the meantime, contact information for nearby Federal Depository libraries can be found in the Federal Depository Library Directory.

Government Information in the Indiana University Southeast Library

Federal Depository Library Program logo Indiana University Southeast is a congressionally designated depository for U.S Government documents.  Public access to the Government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code).  Note that the term "government documents" generally means anything created or produced by a government entity (e.g. legislative bills, statistical data, reports, research studies, consumer guides, archival material, etc.).

The IU Southeast Library receives government materials through the Federal Depository Library Program. Our collection includes essential government publications such as congressional bills, laws, regulations, presidential documents, studies, reports, Supreme Court opinions, and more. 

Government documents housed in the IU Southeast Library are available for free use to the general public without any impediments, such as age limitation or residency status limitation. Access to online government publications can be requested at the IU Southeast Library reference desk. Our tangible, or physical, collection of government publications is available on the first floor of the Library, and is accessible whenever the library is open.  Our print collection of government documents is primarily located in the 1st floor stacks, or bookshelves, closest to the art gallery, and our microfiche government publications are located in cabinets on the wall closest to the art gallery.  The tangible collection of government documents located in the 1st floor stacks are shelved by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system, which groups material by the issuing agency.  We do have a small number of government publications that are shelved on the 3rd floor with our general collection.  These documents are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification system, which groups material by subject.

Government documents available at IU Southeast are searchable in IUCAT, the library’s catalog, which also includes links to government documents in electronic format. Govinfo is the major portal to to official online publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.  You can also use the links in this guide to start your research using government information.

The IU Southeast Library is committed to providing free access to everyone to U.S. Government information.  If you need assistance with finding government documents, please contact an IU Southeast reference librarian.  We are available whenever the library is open – at the reference desk, by phone (812-941-2189), by email, or through chat.

Featured Resources to Find Government Information at IU Southeast