LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: H

Finding Information

H

Harper's Weekly, 1857-1912
Provides online access to Harper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th century "journal of civilization," from 1857-1912. This resource includes the news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Provides full-text access to over 675,000 digitized books and journals in the public domain, as well as allows users to search some digitized books and journals still in copyright.
ACCESS NOTE: IUS students, faculty, and staff can log in (select Indiana University as your partner institution) for additional access to digitized books and journals.
Health and Society in Video
This streaming video collection uses documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews to bridge the gap between medical research and public understanding of health. The focus of these videos are on public health and medicine, nutrition and wellness, childhood development, cultural and environmental health issues, mental health, and more.
HealthCare.gov
Provides information on the Affordable Care Act and options for health insurance coverage under this act.
Health Source: Consumer Edition

A collection of full-text consumer health information, covering topics such as medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides access to scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with a particular emphasis on nursing and allied health.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
HealthSTAR (Ovid)

Includes citations and abstracts to articles, books, book chapters, and government documents on health services, technology, administration, and research. HealthSTAR focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a personal account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your Ovid account.
2. Click My Account and then the Modify Account
3. In the online form, update your email address to use your iu.edu address
4. Enter your password in the Current Password field.
5. Click the Save Changes button
You will return to the Account Administration page and a message will confirm the changes
Hein Online

Provides access to searchable full-text collections of legal journals, texts, cases, statutes, regulations, presidential materials, treaties, and more. Content is in the original page-image (PDF) format, ensuring the authenticity of the original hard copy document. Content includes historical and current materials.
National Historical Geographic Information System (previously Historical Census Browser)
Provides access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks. (Our access to this data was previously through the Historical Census Browser from the University of Virginia Library, which is no longer supporting this tool.)
Note:You must create a free username and password for access to summary tables, time series, and GIS-compatible boundary files.
Historical New York Times with Index

Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2014, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements.

Use the Advanced Search option to access the Index (1851-1993), and limit your search to a specific company or organization, creative work (book or movie), location, person, or subject.
Historical Report Service (Value Line)
See Value Line Historical Report Service.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Provides access to documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.

Access Note: When accessing this resource from off campus, you may receive notification that the website certificate is not valid. (This is due to the URL having a double SSL connection.) To access the site you will need to either click okay on the warning (Internet Explorer) or click to add an exception (Firefox).
Hoosier State Chronicles
Provides access to historic newspapers published in Indiana (between 1840-1922).
Horizon Online

Indiana University Southeast's student-produced news organization, published daily online and every other week in print during the spring and fall semesters.
Note: Digitized copies of issues of the IU Southeast student newspaper are available here: http://libguides.ius.edu/studentnewspapers, from the first volume through 2007.
Human Resource Management Online
Provides access to textbooks, book chapters, cases from well-known case providers, corporate training videos, sample business documents, and executive-oriented research reports focused on human resources management.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

IUS Databases A-Z: H

Finding Information

H

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

One Mail Instructions

Ask a Librarian

Featured Database